my daughter is coming home…..

my mother did a thing Everytime I called her about going home.

My mother would tell everyone she knew….. I thought it was weird …..

“My daughter is coming home” she could say….

Sometimes she left work early, or didn’t even go in…

She sat by the side of the road waiting once…..

She always called over and over during the trip to find out how far out I was

And if everything was okay…

She cleaned and cooked and hugged me when I showed up

Always with a big “nsayuse okulaba” dressed in a very happy smile….

Well do people call before going home?

Or is it the kind of place you should just show up to

I do not know the answer to this

but, I hope my daughter shows up anyway

A random knock on a random morning

Evening or afternoon or night.

Just a “mummy I’m home…..”

A comfortable walk to the kitchen to pick up a cup of hot cocoa

Or a glass of wine…..

And squeezing in next to me on the couch

I’ll scold her a little about washing her hands and first taking her bag to her room ….

Wait for her to tell me about her day or week or month….

A random “I changed my flight can you pick me up tonight instead….”

Knowing I’ll be ready to make it happen…

but for today I’ll celebrate….. my daughter is coming home after all 🙂

Leave a comment